Gary Wilton receives award
Photo by Dot Dalziell

Outdoor Access Champion Awards

The Outdoor Access Champion awards recognise those who have made significant and lasting contributions to public access to the outdoors in New Zealand, whether through securing new legal access, championing public rights of access, trail building, or contributing to an understanding of access rights and responsibilities.

These awards are New Zealand’s way of saying thanks to some of the wonderful people who have helped open up the great outdoors to the public.

We encourage people to think about their local champions — both individuals and groups — and put forward a nomination for consideration. Nominations for the 2024 awards closed on 13 November 2023. Our Board will select and announce the successful nominees in December 2023, and we will present the awards in 2024.

The awards were inaugurated in 2013.

Previous recipients of Outdoor Access Champion awards