Board Feb 2024

Our Board

Herenga ā Nuku is governed by a Board, with members appointed by the responsible Minister (who is usually the Associate Minister for Agriculture).

To communicate with our Board please contact our corporate team.


Don Cameron

Don CameronDon Cameron was mayor of Ruapehu District until October 2022 and was a representative on the Local Government New Zealand National Council. He is a keen mountain biker with a wealth of experience in rural and recreation access issues. He is a member of Ruapehu-Whanganui Rural Support Trust and Rural Health Alliance Aotearoa NZ, is the co-chair of the Road Controlling Authority and recently helped to set up the Ameku Road Walkway in Raetihi.

Term of appointment: December 2019 to December 2025



Pierre Henare

Pierre HenarePierre Henare (Ngāti Porou, Ngāti Hine) is the current board chairman and a founding director of Tairāwhiti Pharmaceuticals Ltd Group. He has also held board positions with Māori incorporations, Māori land trusts and with the Māori advisory boards to Tairāwhiti District Health and Midlands Health. Pierre has also worked for a range of government departments in both advisory and management capacities.

Term of appointment: August 2018 to August 2024.

Hugh Logan

Dr Hugh LoganDr Hugh Logan chaired the independent review of the Walking Access Act in 2019. He has also led the Ministry for the Environment, the Department of Conservation, and the NZ Antarctic Programme (now Antarctica NZ). He is a member of Te Ahu Pātiki Trust, which co-manages 500 hectares of publicly accessible land on Banks Peninsula. He is experienced in Māori land issues, Treaty settlements, and hands-on negotiations at a national level, with iwi, hapū, and whanau. He has also been a university lecturer, published author and chairperson of several public committees. Dr Logan holds a Queens Service Medal for his contributions immediately following the Air New Zealand DC-10 disaster on Mt. Erebus.

Term of appointment: 15 September 2023 to 15 September 2026.

Helen Mexted

Helen MextedHelen Mexted has significant strategic leadership and governance experience in public and private sector organisations such as Te Whatu Ora — Health New Zealand, Toit¹ Te Whenua — Land Information New Zealand, Local Government New Zealand, Greater Wellington Regional Council, Public Trust and Federated Farmers. Helen holds a Master of Business Administration and a Bachelor of Business Studies and is a Chartered Member of the Institute of Directors.

Term of appointment: August 2018 to August 2024.

Darren Lee Rewi

Darren RewiDarren Lee Rewi has extensive experience serving both professional and voluntary boards, including as the Te Waipounamu Māori representative on the Victim Support National Board, trustee at the Whakatipu Community Hub Charitable Trust, and the mayoral appointee and chair of the Queenstown Lakes District Council Welcoming Communities Advisory Board. He founded and runs Take Tuia, a cultural engagement consultancy agency in Queenstown. Mr Rewi is the founder and chair of Mana Tahuna, a kaupapa Māori charitable trust in Queenstown, and is the community lead for the Jobs for Nature project to make Lake Hayes swimmable again. He was the Kai Tahu representative on the Teo Marama and Environment Southland Regional Forum board and the outgoing Kai Tahu representative on the DOC Species Recovery Group for the endangered whio.

Term of appointment: 15 September 2023 to 15 September 2026.