2018 Board at Paradise Glenorchy

New appointments to Walking Access Commission

The Walking Access Commission has five new board members, tasked with enhancing walking access opportunities across New Zealand. Cabinet has confirmed new Board members Pierre Henare, Helen Mexted, Hilary Allison, Raewyn Tipene and Lisa Chase.

The five new Board members join current members Robin McNeill, Peter Brown and Board Chair John Forbes. They met as a team for the first time this month in Paradise, near Glenorchy.

John Forbes welcomes the new Board members. He says they bring significant skills, experience and knowledge to the Board, including strategy, community initiatives, leadership and tikanga Māori. They also grow the number of women in leadership positions within Aotearoa.

The new Board members replace outgoing Board members Penny Mudford and Barbara Stuart, who have served the Commission in various roles since before its inception.